Stand on the Sky

Author(s): Erin Bow

Junior Fiction

Erin Bow's Governor General's Award-winning title -- now in paperback!

She had always heard that the eagle chooses the eagle hunter. She wanted that. She wanted her eagle to come to her. To choose her.

It goes against all tradition for Aisulu to train an eagle, for among the Kazakh nomads, only men can fly them. But everything changes when Aisulu discovers that her brother, Serik, has been concealing a bad limp that risks not just his future as the family's leader, but his life too.

When her parents leave to seek a cure for Serik in a distant hospital, Aisulu finds herself living with her intimidating uncle and strange auntie -- and secretly caring for an orphaned baby eagle. To save her brother and keep her family from having to leave their nomadic life behind forever, Aisulu must earn her eagle's trust and fight for her right to soar. Along the way, she discovers that family are people who choose each other, home is a place you build, and hope is a thing with feathers.

Erin Bow's lyrical middle grade debut is perfect for fans of original animal-friendship stories, in the tradition of Pax and Because of Winn Dixie.

$17.99(AUD)

Available Stock:
0
On Order:
3

Order this Item


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

General Fields

  • : 9780358434207
  • : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company
  • : HMH Books for Young Readers
  • : October 2020
  • : .862 X 5.125
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Erin Bow
  • : Paperback
  • : English
  • : 813/.6
  • : 336